ERGO logo
World Laws on Assisted Suicide

Law Reform

Various forms of medical assisted suicide have been approved in the following states and nations. Each law has its own limits, rules and guidelines. All but Switzerland forbid foreigners this type of help to die. Only Canada, the Netherlands and Belgium permit chosen death via doctor lethal injection; all others are by doctor prescription which the patient drinks. A policy statement in England gives clear guidance when helping another to die would not be prosecuted, but there is no law.

Switzerland (1940)
Oregon (1994)
Colombia (1997)
The Netherlands (2002)
Belgium (2002)
Washington (2008)
Luxembourg (2009)
Montana (2009) (court ruling only)
England & Wales (2010) (prosecution policy statement. No law.)
Vermont (2014)
Quebec (2015)
California (2015)
Canada (2016)
Colorado (2016)
Washington DC (2017)
Hawaii (2019)